Dominate Open Finals Interview: Thunderbirds (TB)

by Focus

What’s your favorite moment from this season?

Blood King: Reverse sweeping NYA. I was so proud of my boys after that series. Also smacking all the teams who called us bad and trash talking whatever team we were vs. that week to hype up matches.

UltraBlueJay: A team mental booming on us for following rules and calling side. Also our reverse sweep against last weekend’s team was funny as fuck.

Kaiden: Single favorite moment I’d say has to be in game 5 vs. NYA where my team was losing a fight in the bot lane and I was just telling my team to stall it out, I’m almost there. I then flashed in and picked up a triple and aced the enemy team.

Neath: Probably beating MOWS in tie breakers cause you know, who doesn’t like to beat the good, the bad, and the ugly of Risen. It also showed us that we were actually good and not our group was just trash.

I Have Int List: 1) Winning 2) Smacking “hugo” bc he is a dog and talks trash even after losing 3) People telling me I have a huge ego 4) Being called bad

Who would you give season MVP to and why?

Blood King: Definitely Joey, he’s a solid player and has been consistently carrying all season. Kaiden with a close second as he’s really been picking it up during playoffs.

UltraBlueJay: Joey and Kaiden are tied for MVP. I like Joey’s vibes and mental, overall fun player to win with. Kaiden seems to land heads every game, and pops off for us with good shotcalls and 1v9 plays. Both mental boom the enemy respectively, so they my MVP’s.

Kaiden: I’d say my MVP vote would go to Joey as he’s really been the carry down bot lane and why they’ve been so lane dominant. He’s basically always been able to get the clutch engages for our team to ensure winning picks and fights for us.

Neath: MVP would probably go to my support Joey because I don’t know how someone can live with themselves knowing they have to carry Neath to a win.

I Have Int List: Thanks guys. Ik i’m just so amazing.

Is this your first time playing competitively? Did you enjoy playing in Risen?

Blood King: It’s not, I’ve played in multiple other amateur leagues. I was glad that I was able to find Thunderbirds here. They are probably my favorite team I have ever played for and I have mad respect and admiration for all my boys. Risen? Idk yet, half the community is pretty toxic. Otherwise the staff and organization is good.

UltraBlueJay: Nah. Was on another team last season with Neath. Our team was all around less ‘together’ then. It felt like a chore playing with them, but I still enjoyed playing competitively in Risen.

Kaiden: I’ve been playing since Season 1. First started playing competitively in Season 2. I played semi-pro in Season 2 for a time competing with many players who would move on to play in the LCS such as LOD and NintendudeX. The team disbanded over differences in how the game should be played and champ pool issues. I’ve played in tournaments on and off since then including collegiate tournaments which were incredibly fun, especially in Season 3 when I hit my peak of D1. After season 3 my drive to play league fell off drastically as friends moved on and I took long breaks from the game, only occasionally coming back to hit basic rank rewards and compete and win in tournaments.

Risen itself has been a very enjoyable experience especially with the players I’ve been matched with and has helped reignite my drive to improve and compete again. 

Neath: Nah this is my second attempt, we all know I’m gonna win a title before Shady. I love playing competitively, Risen is like the only server I have seen so far that is easily navigable. Focus and PRL are so confusing to navigate. This experience just makes me want to try harder to go pro.

I Have Int List: I haven’t played in a sorted league before. Almost played in Risen last season but my friend didn’t make the roster just like this year :(. My friend got banned so I couldn’t do Upsurge which is why I’m playing Risen. Done Battlefy tourneys. Risen is cool. I like the free agent tourney a lot but most of the community hates me. Worth 🙂

What did you learn about yourself in Season 9? What are your plans for Season 10?

Blood King: Team players win. Climb hard. It’s tank season Pog!

UltraBlueJay: I learned that the community is dogshit. My plans for season 10 is to int people in the last week of the season because God knows they don’t get banned. xd.

Kaiden: In Season 9 I’ve literally role swapped to every position to re-find where I’m comfortable at. It wasn’t until Risen started and I had to focus on playing mid that I really started to get in the groove of things and I’ve been steadily improving each week as I’ve been expanding my champ pool and rounding into form.

Neath: I learned that I have some actual skills and that if i just don’t autopilot then I can climb far. My plans are to get to master+ by the end of the season and maybe just maybe go to a team that competes in the FACEIT scouting grounds tournament.

I Have Int List: I learned how to work as a teammate better. I tilt way less than in solo queue. I found out how griefing solo queue is extremely fun. I might run it back season 10 for Risen if I don’t get banned for toxicity.

Any final words for your team or for your opponents?

Blood King: I respect AO and the solo laners from NYA. Big ego? At least I can back my trash talk up. Tank slave? I play for my team not for lane or to be flashy. This is why you idiots lost and I haven’t. Neath is carrying us? Didn’t you call him trash at the beginning? Hypocrites. Keep performing those mental gymnastics, though.

UltraBlueJay: Good luck, we got set bonus.

Kaiden: I’d like to wish AO luck and to not underestimate us like many others have. Our lanes that are supposedly “outclassed” are gunning for you and we won’t just roll over. Also Set Bonus OP.

Neath: To the opponents, idk why they took the name of the disgraced team that was last seasons champion. These noobs aren’t smurfs so they are probably gonna poop their pants when they realize MOWS was the freest series of their lives. To my team, love you all, and hopefully we get to stay for Dom Premade next season to get that U.GG sponsored prize pool. 🙂

I Have Int List: To all of the people who think I’m not good, I say why am I in finals and you aren’t. I have the highest KP in the league 72% in playoffs yet the others supports are more impactful than me? XDDDD. Aka Mr. 44% KP on AO. Also I went deathless against MOWS. Love my team have been great to me all season. They are the only ones who don’t doubt me and give me confidence to play better. We are untiltable even in defeat. @hugotrash #OP.GGBEST 🙂

Leave a comment